Learning Cairngorm 3, part I

January 19, 2011

Initially, I found Cairngorm 3 a little hard to wrap my brain around. It’s not a framework per se, but a set of optional libraries, guidelines and suggestions for other frameworks to use. It almost seems possible to accidentally code a “Cairngorm 3” program, at least by Adobe’s definition. All that said, many of the optional Cairngorm 3 libraries provided by Adobe require the Parsley framework, so Adobe seems to be strongly nudging in that direction. I’m going to take the hint and build my first Cairngorm 3 application with Parsley, using those optional libraries when I can.

My goal will be to build a complete (if profoundly stupid) Cairngorm 3 application from design to completion, following all Cairngorm 3 guidelines, and including the following features:

  • Deep-linking. This application will have two pages, and each can be navigated to through a URL.
  • Localizable string resources. Because it’s the right thing to do.
  • Use of SkinnableComponent and SparkSkin for visual components.
  • Unit testing.

So what will it do? Well, a recruiter recently tried to get me to move to Austin to help build “video gaming” devices. I won’t lie – my soul is definitely for sale, but the asking price is higher than what they were offering. Still, why not build a video gaming website just for fun? Maybe not Texas Hold ‘Em, but more something like…

Leave a Reply

